Will #Obelisk devalue the price of Sia coin ???

• Will #Obelisk devalue the price of Sia coin ???
    If there will be millions of sia coin generated by ASIC miner , there should be inflation in siacoin price . I am very new in this field.
    Can anyone please clarify?

• Global Moderator

@kafi959 requiring a specific hardware that you can't just buy at any time might make it go up with supply and demand.
    But also might make people lose interest because they can't mine.

Make sure you tag me @bryan if you need to me respond.
    Forum Mod. I cannot fix transactions. I can't help with Mac or Linux.
    alt text
    Unofficial Web Based Siacoin Wallet. No more syncing.

• the supply of coins is done through mining. The rate at which new coins are mined is determined by the "inflation". Sias inflation follows a downward slope in some years hitting 2% where it stays. So the generation speed of new blocks where the "reward" is stored is predefined and cannot be altered. It is controlled by the parameter difficulty, to ensure that the rate of new blocks is the same.

now... any miners ability to get hold of new block and being rewarded depends on his mining power, the hash rate. The more has rate at his disposal the better "chance" to get hold of new blocks. This is where the HW and the asics /Obelisk discussion comes in.

Before you could mine with a normal PC, now you need GPU and in a while you will have to get hold of dedicated hardware. The algorithms difficulty level ensures that even there is more hashing power in the net work the rate at which new blocks are mined is the same, so adding hasing power does not generate more coins! and as such has no influence over the price.

Dedicated HW can lead to centralization as we've seen with bitcoins, centralizing the ability to actually mine profitalby on fewer hands due to the high investment in dedicated Hardware, but on the other hand it also ensures a stable network so I'm not sure if it is good or bad.